Saturday Morning Macaroons

Image

 

So I woke up this morning, and I thought “nope, I just can’t go to work today”. I need a break. Maybe tomorrow, but definitely not today. I’m not required to go in today or anything, but just trying to get some things cleaned up before I leave for vacation next week. 

Vacationing will be tough being on Paleo. I’m going home to see family that I probably haven’t seen in about 3 years. So sometimes, you may not get the choice of where or what to eat….Nevertheless, I’m determined to make the best possible choices 🙂

So with that in mind, I made some snacks to take with me. Coconut Macaroons—even my hubby will eat these 🙂

Recipe

  • 2 cups of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/8 cup of almond butter
  • 3/8 cup of raw honey (or 1/4 cup + 1/8 cup)
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together, doesn’t matter what order. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. I’ve found that this helps to keep the macaroons from sticking and falling apart. Take a spoon and scoop the mixture and press firmly into the spoon. Then just push it off right onto the baking sheet. Pop them into the oven for about 15-18 minutes until they are golden brown. 

Image

 

If you don’t want to use almond butter, you don’t have to. I think the almond butter gives it a little more texture and buttery flavor. However, if you don’t want to use almond butter, just sub the almond butter for more honey. 

These little treats are also delicious with a cup of coconut milk, ENJOY!

Image

Leave a Reply

