Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t…

This is probably my favorite paleo sweet treat I’ve ever made, Coco-Nutty Cookie Bars. I loved them so much that I ate an entire pan in 2 days…Did I just say that I loud???? yeah… I don’t care….. they are DELISH!

First things first. Pure Madagascar Vanilla.

Image

I love vanilla extract. There is just something about the aroma, reminds me of all the sweet things in life. I remember along time ago when Sprinkles cupcakes were the crave and their recipe calls for Madagascar vanilla. So the other day in the grocery store I was looking for pure vanilla extract and I landed on Madagascar vanilla….so I just had to buy it! Now you don’t have to use Madagascar vanilla for your cookie bars to be delicious, but who doesn’t like saying “Madagascar Vanilla”? It sounds fancy, right? Lol 🙂

Image

Coco-Nutty Cookie Bars

  • 1 cup of almond butter
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/3 cup of coconut sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. Grade B maple syrup – ( optional, gives it a little extra sweetness)
  • 1/3 cup of Enjoy Life chocolate chips (vegan)
  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/4 chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 chopped pecans
  • 1 “flax egg” – 3T of water and 1T of ground flax seed – mix and set aside
  • 1 t. baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together, including your “flax egg” and pour into a n 8 x 8 baking dish. Your “flax egg” is like a binding agent. Firmly press the mixture into the dish. Bake for approximately 20 minutes. Take out from the oven and let cool for 15 minutes. ENJOY!

Image

Leave a Reply

